cuba > cuba destinations > sancti spiritus province > trinidad > trinidad casas > casa el tulipan > reviews 2012

Cuba Junky Home

Cuba Casa Directory App - Cuba-Junky Cuba Casa Directory App - Android Google Play

Booking.com  

Reviews 2012 Casa El Tulipan | Trinidad | Cuba

Support the Cuban Locals

By buying the Cuba Casa Directory app for Android and IOS.

The Cuba Casa Directory is THE "Yellow Pages" for casas particulares in Cuba!
All information including casa particular email addresses.

Casa Particular Directory

Casa Particular Directory App - Android Google Play


WRITE A REVIEW

 

Dec 19 2012
Name: Neil Patel
Country: UK
I stayed here at: 09/12/2012

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Amazing.There is nothing more to say. The best Casa we stayed in Cuba. It is the top raked Casas for very good reasons. It is the small touches that no other casas provide which makes this the best casas that we stayed in...

Casa specifics: English speaking, Fantastic hosts, Elegant, Comfortable, Cozy, Roomy, Charming, No frills, Beautiful, Safe, Pets in the house, Patio
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Balcony, Breakfast service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Very spacous and clean. Modern yet very stylish. The chill out room was also very good and there is plenty of space to chill in the patio as well. Also provided with own kitchen which is unique. Bathroom more than adequate.
How was the food they offer?: Best breakfast in Cuba. Shame they didn't do dinner.
Other services they offer: They will bend over backwards for you as long as it is within reason. Very experienced and well worth a visit.


Dec 6 2012
Name: Lori Rosichan
Country: USA
I stayed here at: 11/22/2012

Casa el Tulipan

My review: Casa el Tulipan was a most wondeful place to stay in Trinidad, Cuba. The accomodations were extremely clean and the rooms were lovely. There is a bedroom, living/dining room, full kitchen for cooking, a bathroom with HOT water, a closet area, and the private balcony was amazing! We had our own private entrance so as to not have to disturb the owners, Mara and Bernardo. Though they didn't mind hanging out with us on occasion, and were always available to inquire about information on Trinidad or anything else Cuban related! The bed was VERY comfortable, and in the living room was a whole separate couch in day, but bed at night, if needed. The lighting in the apartment was GREAT, and when you wanted it dark for better sleep, all you had to do was close the shutters. There are fans in every room, and air conditioner if you needed. Luckily, we were there in November, and the weather was beautiful where only opening the windows or an occasional fan was needed. There are also other services, such as a refrigerator stocked with drinks and laundry service (which we did not need).
Mara and Bernardo are wonderful people, with a wonderful place. I will go back and stay there again, and certainly recommend to anyone traveling to Trinidad. I found new friends in them!!

Casa specifics: English speking, Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Hidden gem, Roomy, Romantic, Charming, Beautiful, Safe, Patio
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Laundry service, Balcony, Breakfast service, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Our room was comfortable and clean. Bed made every day, and lots of area for putting our luggage and clothes. The bed was comfortable.
How was the food they offer?: The breakfast service was GREAT!!! I think we ate every morsel of bread. There were all kinds of condiments and tea, coffee and juice, along with delicious eggs.
Other services they offer: They are able to recommend anything you ask about basically, and offer laundry services as well. Also, you can arrange to get picked up from bus terminal in a bicitaxi.


July 27 2012
Name: Jaap & Carla
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 4/2/2012

El Tulipan

My review: We stayed at El Tulipan for 3 nights in April. From the moment we arrived, Bernardo and Marga were really nice hosts, friendly and helpful! Your room is on the second floor of the house. A small spiral staircase takes you upstairs to your little apartment.
The breakfast is really good and available each morning and served on the roof terrace. While having your breakfast you can see the cuban streetlife in the morning, it's perfect!! In the morning it's a little bit noisy. The neighbour, living opposite Marga en Bernardo will keep an eye on your car during the night! We had a fantastic stay at El Tulipan. Thanks so much Marga and Bernardo!!

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Roomy, Charming, Safe, Patio
Amenities: Parking service, TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Balcony, Breakfast service, Queensize bed, Extra bed available


June 15 2012
Name: Eva & Chris
Country: Australia
I stayed here at: 4/10/2012

Casa El Tulipan

My review: We stayed at El Tulipan for 2 nights in April. From the moment we arrived, Bernardo and Marga were fantastic hosts, so friendly and welcoming and helpful. Your room is on the second storey of their house (they live downstairs) and a small spiral staircase takes you upstairs to your little apartment.
The room is fully equipped with everything you'll need for your stay in Trinidad, a comfy queen bed, air con (which is a lifesaver, especially at nights when it's too humid to sleep!), your own bathroom with shower and toilet, and a kitchen, for those wanting to prepare a meal themselves. We were only in Trinidad for 2 nights so didn't bother doing any cooking ourself, but the kitchen had all the equipment you would need to make a meal - pots, pans, etc. The room was spotless, had plenty of storage and also had a tv and plenty of books/magazines. It was just like stepping into your own Cuban apartment. As Bernardo and Marga live downstairs, you have your own entry/exit, and so you don't ever feel as though you're disturbing them with your daily plans. Breakfast is available each morning (just let Marga or Bernardo know the evening before and they will bring it up for you to enjoy on the terrace!) and for 4CUC per head (price at the time that we went), it was great value. It's always nice to get a good breakfast before setting off on a day of adventure in Trinidad and Tulipan's breakfast was great - toast, fruit, eggs, cheese, coffee and tea and a selection of other local treats. It pays to take advantage of this as good food in Cuba can be somewhat hard to find!
The casa is located a few minutes walk from the town centre, and for further trips, you can easily hail a bike-taxi from out the front (it's located on quite a busy street so there's always a taxi or bike-taxi going past you can jump into). There's plenty of paladars and dining options within easy walking distance too. To your left off the balcony are the Escambray Mountains, where you can enjoy horse riding.
Bernardo and Marga are fantastic, very helpful and will assist you in organising your day or evening out, right down to phoning to make reservations for you and booking a taxi to pick you up/drop you off. We found this especially helpful as we don't speak Spanish and so were able to enjoy Trinidad and what it has to offer without language barriers getting in the way.All up, we had a fantastic stay at El Tulipan. Thanks so much to our lovely hosts. Hope to see you again soon! :)

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Romantic, Charming, Safe, Garden, Patio
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Laundry service, Balcony, Ceiling fan, Breakfast service, Queensize bed, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Great! Very private, spotlessly clean, well appointed and comfortable.
How was the food they offer?: Tulipan offers breakfast for 4CUC per head. For this tiny price, the food was generous and delicious! Breakfast is served on your private terrace, overlooking the street below.
Other services they offer: Your room has a mini bar and they also offer a laundry service. Bernardo and Marga are more than happy to assist you with anything you need help with - be it suggestions for dinner, organising a taxi for you, ideas on how to spend your day, etc. They truly made Trinidad so much more enjoyable as they are more than happy to share all their local knowledge with you.
Other comments: If you're planning to visit Trinidad, make El Tulipan your place to stay! It was the best of both worlds - the privacy of your own little apartment combined with the help and friendliness of staying with friends. We loved it and had a wonderful time. Thankyou Bernardo and Marga!

Pictures: 1 | 2 | 3


June 4 2012
Name: Henny and Kathy
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 5/3/2012

Casa El Tulipan

My review: We stayed for 4 nights in Casa El Tulipan and had a wonderful time there. Marga and Bernardo are very hospitable and always willing to assist with trips, taxi's, restaurants and other things. The casa is situated just a few minutes walking from the middle of the towncentre and has a beautiful and big terrace all for yourself. After 21 days touring through Cuba, staying with Marga and Bernardo in Casa El Tulipan was by far the most cosy and relaxing experience!

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Beautiful, Safe, Patio
Amenities: Parking service, TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Laundry service, Breakfast service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: The appartment has a living room with kitchen, a bedroom and a bathroom with a well working shower. And than there is the huge terrace for nice relaxing moments. Everything was very clean and well kept.
How was the food they offer?: The breakfast was very generous and tasty. Served on the terrace; no better way to start your day.
Other services they offer: Marga and Bernardo can assist you with information about trips, restaurants, nightlife, salsa courses, beaches and everything else you want to know. Laundry service is also provided.


April 30 2012
Name: David Sinclair
Country: Australia
I stayed here at: 4/23/2012

Casa El Tulipan

My review: The owners are delightful and accommodating. The apartment is lovely and clean. Breakfast was excellent which is quite an endorsement in Cuba as good food can be elusive. I would recommend a stay here but only if you do not plan on spending much time in the apartment during the day. It is located on the street that passes through Trinidad which can be very noisy. At night time it is relatively quiet and it is nicely located a few blocks away from the main tourist area, an easy walk but nice not to be right on top of the coach loads of tourists and touts.

Casa specifics: Comfortable, Patio
Amenities: Parking service, TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Balcony, Breakfast service, Bathroom with shower


April 26 2012
Name: Vincent & Joyce Wouters
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 4/12/2012

El Tulipan

My review: We really liked our stay at this casa.
It was very nice to speak in our own language. Maria / Marga and Bernardo are very friendly and helpfull people.
On the first day they invited us to drink something with them in Casa de la Troja to celebrate her sons birthday who was also visiting his mother. We really had a good time in casa the la Troja with international company.
El Tulipan is very clean, spacious and you have a lot of privacy. You will have your own key for the private entrance. They serve a good breakfast with delicious cheese from the Netherlands on the roof terrace. Wich is a great place to sit in the evening or morning. We came by car and we parked it on the opposit of their casa / road and the neighbour will keep an eye on it the whole night only for 2 cuc per night.
We really loved our time in Tinidad but it was way too short (3 nights) 2 full days.
We wish them luck with their casa and hope they will have a lot of customers.
Hope to visit them again in the future.

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Elegant, Comfortable, Cozy, Roomy, Charming, Beautiful, Safe, Garden, Pets in the house
Amenities: Parking service, TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Balcony, Ceiling fan, Breakfast service, Queensize bed, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Spacious, comfortable and clean.
How was the food they offer?: Good.

Pictures: 1 | 2 | 3


April 16 2012
Name: Elke & Pieter
Country: Belgium
I stayed here at: 7/27/2011

Casa El Tulipan

My review: For a wonderfull time in Cuba and Trinidad you have to stay at casa el tulipan with Marva and Bernardo! These people are very kind, helpfull and good cooks. You stay at the secondfloor appartement with a big terras. The extensive breakfast, the very clean appartement and the center in walking distance makes your stay in Trinidad comfortable. We liked it a lot and felt like home. Marva and Bernardo are the best hosts you could wish for!


April 1 2012
Name: Paul Rapsey
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 3/15/2012

Casa El Tulipan

My review: This wonderful second floor apartment and private patio overlooking a vibrant streetscape is minutes from the historic centre of Trinidad and all that it offers. It is a gem; but what makes it particularly special, besides the wonderful mountain vista and delicious breakfasts, are the two hosts Marga and Bernardo. They point you to the best and most genuinely Cuban of places for music, dancing, fine food and drink. My partner and I felt truly welcomed. It was always a pleasure to come "home" after a day of walking the cobbled streets or lying on the beach.

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Charming, Safe, Patio
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Balcony, Garden, Breakfast service, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: The apartment had a comfortable edroom, sitting room and kitchen and an en suite batroom with shower. It was lovely, airy and pleasantly decorated.
How was the food they offer?: Breakfast was exceptional. Eggs, fruit, juice, toast and jam, cheese, meats and wonderful coffee or tea. What more could one ask for.
Other services they offer: They found us drivers and offered to contact various services for us should we be interested - riding, sightseeing etc.


February 25 2012
Name: pansieri cecile
Country: france
I stayed here at: 1/13/2012

Casa el tulipan

My review: i've had such a wonderfull time in "el tulipan"! nore only a room but a stunning appartment with all that european confort of ours. double bed room, cosy living room with tv and most of all a kitchen to be free to cook brekfast at all time and enjoy a good meal. bathroom with an actual shower that works( not always the case in cuba). womens' treat: a dressing! a large terrasse is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy sunbathing or a little drink with visitors. lovely landlords Marga & Bernardo will give you a worm welcome. she's dutch and can speak english as well as a bit of french, she's the european flavor to decoration. he's cuban and will give you all the tips to discover trinidad . the location is in the heart of the city for a real introduction in cuban's life far ! from the touristic venues.
perfect place for a long journey.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Charming, Beautiful, Pets in the house
Amenities: Parking service, TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Breakfast service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: perfect
How was the food they offer?: perfect


February 21 2012
Name: Bornwyn Rice
Country: Australia
I stayed here at: 12/24/2012

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Stayed here with friends over Christmas 2011. The accommodation occupies the entire upper level and is a charming, comfortable and spacious self catered apartment with a lovely big terrace that looks over the street and up to the mountains. Marga and Bernardo are friendly and helpful hosts, who turn on an excellent breakfast if you want one.

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Roomy, Charming, Safe, Garden, Patio
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Private bathroom, Balcony, Breakfast service, Queensize bed, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: The whole apartment was comfortable and tastefully decorated, the bed was firm and good for sleeping.
How was the food they offer?: We had breakfast and it was generous and delicious with both tea and coffee. Set out on the terrace, it was a delightful way to start the day.
Other comments: I managed to leave my favourite hat there and with some effort on her part, Marga has arranged to have it returned to me - service above and beyond expectations, fantastic!


February 16 2012
Name: Maria Flavian
Country: Luxembourg
I stayed here at: 4/1/2012

Casa El Tulipan

My review: The casa is very well kept, clean and cosy and has a wonderful terrace, where the owners serve a very good breakfast.
The owners are fantastic, very friendly people who make you feel at home.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Charming, Safe, Patio
Amenities: Private bathroom, Balcony, Breakfast service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: It's more than a room. It is an independent flat, with one bedroom, independent bathromm, a nice kitchen where you can eat, and a beutiful terrace where one can have a nice breakfast.
How was the food they offer?: The breakfast was really good: fresh juice, fried eggs, tomato, bread, fruits and coffe and milk.
Other services they offer: The house is central and the owners help you to book restaurants and give you a lot of information about what's going on in town.
Other comments: The owners are a cuban/european couple extremely nice and friendly. Simply the best!

 

 

 

CASAS IN CUBA

Havana Province

- Havana city (overview of city areas)

Habana Vieja (Old Havana)

Centro Havana

Havana Vedado

Havana Miramar and Havana Playa

Havana Beach

Havana Other areas

Matanzas Province

Matanzas city

Varadero

Cardenas

Playa Larga

Santa Maria

Boca de Camarioca

Colon

Pinar del Rio Province

Pinar del Rio city

Vinales

Bahia Honda

Candelaria

Soroa

Puerto Esperanza

Santa Lucia

La Palma

Cienfuegos Province

Cienfuegos city

Sancti Spiritus Province

Sancti Spiritus city

Trinidad

La Boca

Casilda

Villa Clara Province

Santa Clara

Remedios

Camaguey Province

Camaguey city

Florida

Guaimaro

Santa Lucia

Las Tunas Province

Las Tunas city

Puerto Padre

Ciego de Avila Province

Ciego de Avila city

Moron

Santiago de Cuba Province

Santiago de Cuba city

Holguin Province

Holguin city

Holguin beach

Mayari

Granma Province

Bayamo

Manzanillo

Marea del Portillo

Pilon

Guantanamo Province

Baracoa

Guantanamo city

 

 

 

Cuba destinations Cuba casas particulares
Cuba flights Cuba car rental

 

Cuba Junky Zazzle Store
Cuba Casa Directory app
Cuba Casa Directory for Android Cuba Casa Directory for IOS

 

Cuba-Junky Facebook Cuba-Junky Twitter Cuba-Junky Pinterest

 

About Cuba Junky Write a review
Add a casa particular Havana Journal

 

 

©Cuba-Junky | KvK / CC The Hague The Netherlands: 27315058